Students At Home

For Everyone Who Learns at Home

2023 Word of the Year: Wonder

on January 1, 2023

I realized on Friday, December 30, that I don’t remember my word of the year for 2022. Yikes! So, I decided to ask God if He has a word for me for 2023. Immediately, the word “Wonder” came to mind. Wow! I asked for confirmation – like maybe I was imagining this was the word He had for me. But yes indeed – Wonder.

I feel hopeful about this word. I have so many questions! And Wonder seems to be the solution. For example, I can be willing to ask questions like, “What if?” And remain curious as I wait for answers. I can also look for ways God shows up and enjoy the beauty and “wonders” of nature and humanity. Wonderful!

Here’s what Wonder means: 

Verb (used without object)

* to think or speculate curiously: to wonder about the origin of the solar system

* to be filled with admiration, amazement, or awe; marvel (often followed by at): He wondered at her composure in such a crisis

Verb (used with object)

* to speculate curiously or be curious about; be curious to know: to wonder what happened

* to feel wonder at: I wonder that you went

Noun 

* something strange and surprising; a cause of surprise, astonishment, or admiration: That building is a wonder. It is a wonder he declined such an offer

* the emotion excited by what is strange and surprising; a feeling of surprised or puzzled interest, sometimes tinged with admiration: He felt wonder at seeing the Grand Canyon

I wonder how Wonder will show up this year?

Do you have a word of the year? If so, please share it as we prepare to navigate 2023 together.


Leave a comment