Students At Home

For Everyone Who Learns at Home

My Trident – A Big and Meaningful Surprise

on November 28, 2023

Ever since I got my first tattoo in May 2022, I knew I would add to it. But I wasn’t sure exactly what I wanted. Finally, I decided. And the new addition – a trident – is a big surprise.

You see, I’m not a huge ocean fan. Sure, I’ll go to the beach. But I usually don’t jump right into the water. I’m more likely to sit on a big chair under an umbrella or on a boardwalk bench with a book!

However, the trident achieved significant meaning in my life recently.

In June, my son was involved in a car accident, and he broke a tiny bone in his jaw. The oral surgeon decided to wire his jaw shut for at least six weeks, which would hopefully give the bone time to heal. The necessary surgery would also limit my son’s activity, and the doctor gave us no guarantee that healing would happen in time for my son to participate in his senior football season.

I felt heartbroken.

I reached out to a few trusted women on my prayer team, and a dear friend offered to bring me dinner that first night. As we sat in the meditation room on the hospital’s pediatric floor, we cried, prayed and talked. She also offered me a gift. Before leaving her house, she asked God what I needed. He prompted her to bring gum – Trident and Extra.

Of course, I returned to the hospital room after she left and researched the trident. What was so special about that gum that God wanted me to have it?

It turns out that a trident is pretty special. Here’s what I uncovered.

*The word “trident” means three teeth – and my son has his teeth wired shut. The trident is almost a stand-in for my son’s missing body part.

*A polearm weapon, the trident is used for thrusting and throwing, which reminds me of the invitation I received to embrace a new way of being. Immediately after the accident, I was tempted to hide from public judgment, isolate myself and handle the situation alone. I also often wanted to retreat under a warm blankie and sleep forever. Yet, I knew that I needed to reach out for support from people who would care for me and my family. I felt an invitation to step out of hiding, stand up and be seen, move forward, and speak up. I realized that I didn’t need to advertise details of the accident, but I also didn’t need to hide. I could step forward and take action as I advocate for myself and my son.

*The trident is a three-pronged spear and a symbol of the Trinity (Father, Jesus, Spirit). We would definitely need the characteristics of all three members in this situation to bring healing, comfort, wisdom, and peace.

*Over the centuries, the trident has been used as a symbol of power, authority, protection, strength, inner strength, personal growth and development, fortitude, courage, overcoming fear, truthfulness, determination, perseverance, stability, faithfulness, abundance, and spiritual direction. I am calling on God to show up and equip me in the moment with these traits.

*As a symbol of the sea god Poseidon, the trident reminds me to continue to turn to the water. Indeed, my hot morning shower in the spacious family bathroom at the end of the hall gives me space to weep, worship and find healing. And I know I need to stay hydrated so my body and brain function properly during this stressful time.

*Used in agriculture, the trident removes leaves from plants during the winnowing process. I definitely feel like we are being winnowed and sifted! So, I ask God to refine us, redeem that situation and bring a good harvest from it.

Over the next six days, I spent many hours sitting beside my son’s hospital bed, walking the halls or in the shower crying, grieving, questioning, and wondering. And sometimes when I felt like giving up, I’d grab a piece of gum and remember the truths God showed me. That gum and its symbol gave me hope, courage and fortitude.

That’s why when Thanksgiving drew near and I had a few days off work, I decided to schedule my next tattoo. And I love it! Here’s the big reveal.

I’m curious: how has God shown up in your life this year?


Leave a comment