Students At Home

For Everyone Who Learns at Home

Happy Be-lated Birthday!

on September 10, 2014

Birthdays only come around once a year, so celebrate all month! That’s my philosophy, at least. So, I spent August enjoying my favorite coffee flavors, desserts and books.

I also thought long and hard about goals I want to accomplish this next year, the last one I’ll spend in my 30s. From reading every day to growing in love, I’m ready to make the most of the next 365 days.

I’m also super excited about sharing my birthday cake recipe. After all, no birthday is complete without cake! ๐Ÿ™‚

My mom made one of my favorite cakes for my family party this year – Jimmy Carter Cake. Can you guess its main ingredient? Yes, peanuts! It layers crushed and baked peanuts, cream cheese and peanut butter, pudding and whipped cream. So yummy, especially when it’s frozen.

I didn’t take any pictures because we pretty much devoured it, but you can find a pic and the recipe at Deep South Dish. Try it: you won’t regret it. And you can customize the crust on the bottom by replacing the peanuts with crushed chocolate-peanut butter candy or cookies.

If you make it, let me know how you liked it! I know it’s a family favorite here, and it might become your next birthday cake, too!

 

2 responses to “Happy Be-lated Birthday!

  1. Stephanie B. says:

    My mom used to make Jimmy Carter Dessert sometimes too. It’s a refreshing and yummy treat.

    There must be something about the 39th year that causes us to be introspective. I think it is a time of evaluating where you are in life and where you want to be.

    • I agree, Stephanie. I feel like I’m finally “grown up” now and need to figure out how to run the rest of my race well. It sounds morbid, but I definitely see things that I want to change so that I can be free, joyful and unencumbered as I start the next decade! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

