Students At Home

For Everyone Who Learns at Home

Let the Music Calm You

on August 23, 2014

Ever have one of those days where anxiety, worry, anger or stress sit just under the surface of your “I have it all together” mask? Do you ever feel like those ugly emotions are waiting to bubble up and spew out at the slightest provocation?

2973212926_b7603faaa6_o

Scream (Courtesy Mingo Hagen, Flickr)

Okay, you don’t have to admit it.

But I will.

Parenting a kiddo with special needs takes more emotional strength than I can muster sometimes. Although, to be honest, just navigating a busy grocery store, parking at Walmart or paying bills can be enough to set my internal thermometer rising.

And when I feel the internal frustration begin to bubble and threaten to spill over with ugly and hurtful words or mean glances, I try to turn to music.

It soothes and calms me like few relaxation techniques can. And believe me, I’ve tried tons of relaxation methods!

Listening to this song by Hillsong United is one of my favorite ways to restore peace and calm to my soul. I simply close my eyes and let the words and the song’s truths pour over me. Sometimes, I have to listen to it a few times before the truths sink in, but I remain incredibly grateful for the calming lyrics and peaceful message.

What is your go-to relaxation method? You might not need one today, but in case you ever experience one of those days where you’re frazzled, angry, anxious or unrestful, give this song a listen and let the music calm you.

2 responses to “Let the Music Calm You

  1. Anne from Maryland says:

    Mine involves coffee and bubble baths 🙂

Leave a Reply

