Students At Home

For Everyone Who Learns at Home

Hugs: Because You are Not Alone

on August 16, 2014
Erica Firment (Flickr)

Erica Firment (Flickr)

 

 

 

 

 

When was the last time you were hugged?

Ben+Sam (Flickr)

Ben+Sam (Flickr)

 

 

 

 

 

 

Think about it.

Petras Gagilas (Flickr)

Petras Gagilas (Flickr)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’m not talking about a casual hug where your bodies barely touch and you can’t wait to escape. I also don’t mean a sexual hug. Instead, think about the last big, heartfelt hug you received. They’re the type when you cling to, connect with and share your energy with someone.

Tania Cataldo (Flickr)

Tania Cataldo (Flickr)

 

 

 

 

 

For most of us, those types of hugs are few and far between.

Kevin Dooley (Flickr)

Kevin Dooley (Flickr)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My son’s camp counselor is a hugger. I see her almost every day and sometimes twice a day. She hugs me every time she sees me.

I’m not a hugger by nature, but I sure have come to appreciate her touch. In fact, I look forward to it. It’s a gentle reminder that someone cares, that I’m important and that I’m loved.

Are you a hugger? If so, thank you. The world needs more people who value and share human touch.

If you’re not a hugger, how do you feel when others approach you and expect a hug? It’s a wonderful way to connect to others.

Whether you are a hugger or not, will you join me in giving someone an affirmative, loving and accepting hug today?

 

Leave a Reply

