Students At Home

For Everyone who Learns at Home

One Little Compliment Can Change a Life

on August 9, 2014

Have you ever received a compliment that changed your life? I did.

My Jerusalem University College classmates and I were waiting in line during a field trip to see a significant historical site. One of my friends happened to glance down and saw my toes peeking out from my sandals. “Oh,” she exclaimed. “Your toes look so cute!”

0808141347

I have to admit I was shocked. I had never received a compliment on my toes before.

So, what did I do? I tried to show off my toes as often as possible! And to this day, I wear revealing shoes that show off my painted toes and fun toe rings. (In case you were wondering: the ring on my left foot is from Israel and features feet that remind me to walk in love. On my right foot, I wear poppies, my birth month flower.)

I doubt my friend remembers saying that to me, but she changed my life. Every time I look at my toes, I think of that compliment, feel better about myself and look for someone to compliment in return. After all, I can’t keep all that love I felt from that one compliment so many years ago to myself!

As I painted my toes Tangerine this week, I remembered that day. It made me wonder what would happen if we all chose to look for the good in others more often. Instead of focusing on the bad, annoying or frustrating aspects of the people in our lives, we could compliment them and spread cheer as we help others feel better about themselves.

What do you think?

Whether you have cute toes or not, will you join me in changing lives one compliment at a time?

If so, let me know in the comments, and please share a compliment you received yesterday or decades ago that still affects you today.

Together, we can spread kindness and encourage our friends, loved ones and even strangers simply by pointing out something we like or appreciate about them.

 

7 responses to “One Little Compliment Can Change a Life

  1. frannavaldez9399 says:

    I love this! I have no compliments that stick out in my memory. Which makes me want to compliment someone even more now! Thank you for sharing!

  2. allkidtopics says:

    Some kind person not so long ago complimented me on something I wrote, so I can vouch, first-hand for her willingness to pay it forward πŸ˜‰ I will always remember that little bump to my self-esteem. Another great post πŸ™‚

  3. obimomjacoby says:

    A good reminder to say nice things out loud!

  4. Kire says:

    Well, your toes are, in fact, incredibly pretty !

Leave a Reply

