Students At Home

For Everyone Who Learns at Home

The Perfect Classroom Environment

on September 10, 2012

In the hustle and bustle of balancing back to school with my day job, this blog has suffered.  Sigh.  I certainly do not want more hours in my day, but I would like to be able to skip some of the less interesting portions of my daily routine–like sleep and waiting in line.

Anyway, we’re trying out a routine at home so that my first grader can finish his school requirements and have plenty of time to play, which is where he applies the school lessons he learns.  Our cyber school includes required lessons online this year. and my guy is learning how to sit still in the kitchen chair by the computer and listen.

I build plenty of rewards into the schedule so he doesn’t grow weary of class.  In addition to two mandatory classes, he also has other core subjects.  When possible, I combine lessons so we aren’t wasting tons of time reviewing concepts he already knows.  That is one reason I love homeschooling–we can work at our own pace!  I also allow him to manipulate a squeeze ball or magnets while he’s listening because those tools seem to help him concentrate.

Michael G posted today about Swedish schools, and I love the concept.  I’ve reblogged his post and welcome comments about design elements you would include in your perfect classroom.

Leave a Reply

