Students At Home

For Everyone who Learns at Home

Why do I need to Rest?

on April 30, 2012

My day is full!  I homeschool, write, keep financial records for the family business, cook, clean, pay bills, drive to doctor’s appointments,  buy groceries, find overdue library books….

You get the picture. 

Does my life looks a lot like yours?

This past weekend, I determined to slow down and rest.  While I was partially successful, I also needed to meet two deadlines.  I’ve never felt better submitting an article!  Yesterday, I actually hung out with my hubby without worrying about work. 

That’s really the desire of my heart.  I long to just relax and be in the moment.  If it’s time to write, sit down and write my heart out.  If my children ask for story time, read and cuddle like there’s no tomorrow.  If hubby’s home, sit with him and cherish the time together.  In addition to the health benefits of rest (weight loss, reduction in risk of developing ulcers, more positive mental outlook), my family needs me to rest and just be with them.  

As soon as I’m finished writing this post, I’m off to scrapbook.  This creative outlet rejuvenates my spirit and makes me feel happy and fulfilled.  Not only will I be crossing an item off my “to-do” list, but I need this break as a new work week starts.

What enjoyable activities do you enjoy?  What makes you feel smiley inside?

May you enjoy your day and all the activities it brings!

2 responses to “Why do I need to Rest?

  1. rossmountney says:

    Yes, my life looked a lot like yours and I never imagined it being like it is now with far too many hours to get on with my writing and not enough childish distractions! Thanks for visiting mine. x

    • Your comment encourages me! While I have to work to support our family, I can take time to enjoy my children also. Someday, I’ll have uninterrupted time to work…and miss the interruptions, I’m sure. 🙂

Leave a Reply

