Students At Home

For Everyone Who Learns at Home

“No Coffee” diet

on March 12, 2012

As much as I hate to admit it, I’m an addict.  The thought of percolating coffee in the morning motivates me to leave my warm bed and race to the kitchen for my favorite mug.  After lunch, when school is over and my children are ready for their free time, I savor a mug of warm coffee mixed with plenty of milk.  Instead of pigging out on chocolate every night, I make myself a warm cup of decaf or herbal tea to prepare me for restful slumber.

So why in the world would I sign up to test a diet with a “no coffee” clause??

In short, $$$$, but cash does not accurately portray the entire motivation behind this seven-day venture.  I also struggle with my weight and thought that maybe this diet would give me the kick I need to eat better or eat less.  I did keep my new year’s resolutions to drink at least three glasses of water every day and dance for five minutes after lunch with my children, but my weight has not changed since last year when I started working as a freelance writer. 

Today, I finish day four of the diet trial.  I have eaten more vegetables in four days than I ate during the entire last week of February.  While I feel better and fuller after eat meal, I sometimes crave that warm cup in my hand. 

I don’t know if I will continue this diet after the week trial is over.  I hope I will continue to eat more veggies and exercise more, but I’m not sure my motivation will remain as high when I know I’m not getting paid.  

I know I definitely will not continue the coffee fast.  Face it, that warm mug of addiction wakes me up, calms me down and provides a comfort no vegetable can produce.

Leave a Reply

