Students At Home

For Everyone who Learns at Home

Flexible Schedules

on February 23, 2012

My children spent time this morning working on school work.  My kindergartener attended his online math class on the desktop computer our cyber school provides.  My second grader practiced her math skills on our family laptop.  Because we plan to take off school tomorrow in order to visit my mom after her recent surgery, I have a list of school items we need to accomplish today.

In the midst of diligent studies, Daddy walked in the door.  Instead of waiting at his auto body shop for parts, he came home to sit with us and eat lunch.  With joy, we welcomed him home and prepared peanut butter and banana sandwiches.  My daughter made her own sandwich while my son counted the pieces of bread Daddy used to create his culinary masterpiece.  I can count lunch preparation as math and fine motor skills.  We will catch up later today or next week on our other curriculum requirements.

While our daily schedule is interrupted today, I find the rewards to be worth the extra work we will need to do later.  In the meantime, I allow my children to enjoy much-needed time with their Daddy.  My students at home benefit from flexible schedules, and we all benefit from the peace and joy we gain as we relax and go with the flow.

Leave a Reply

