Students At Home

For Everyone Who Learns at Home

For All the Wounded Mamas

on August 2, 2014

While driving my son to his therapeutic camp the other day, I spotted a mama duck and her five duckling. Stranded alongside the road, they battled speeding traffic to find a way across the road.

This mama duck wasn’t any ordinary duck, though.

Mama Duck and Ducklings

Mama Duck and Ducklings

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

She walked with a limp.

As I briefly debated stopping the car in the middle of the road, stopping traffic and helping the duck family cross the road safely, my heart broke.

Would this mama duck survive against much heavier cars and trucks? Would she be able to guide her babies to whatever they wanted on the other side? I’ll never know the answers to these questions, but I do know that duck taught me a lesson.

All mamas are wounded.

We don’t sign up to be:

  • Ignored
  • Yelled at
  • Neglected
  • Sleep deprived
  • Prematurely gray
  • Forgotten on our birthdays

But many mamas experience these challenges at least once during their mothering careers.

There is Hope

We all have choices. I admit: I wallow in the woundedness too often. However, there’s always a silver lining and hope.

1. Self-care: An escape into a good book, a warm cup of coffee, a quick chat with a good friend and even a moment of cloud watching can refresh our souls before we reenter the real world. Whether you have one minute or an hour, prioritize self-care as you heal from woundedness.

2. Gratitude: Your child’s smile, an early bedtime, an empty washing machine and a brief hug are all blessings. Can you find other things to be grateful for in the midst of your parenting challenges?

3. Prayer and God’s Word: I’m amazed by how God knows exactly what I need. And as I pour out my heart while I scrub the toilets, wash endless sinks of dishes and fold laundry, He always shows up. He heals broken hearts (Psalm 147:3), provides comfort (Psalm 119:50) and offers hope (Psalm 31:23-24) at all times, including when our parenting job is overwhelming.

We can’t get through this parenting gig without feeling wounded at least once in a while. However, we don’t have to stay there. What’s your favorite way to heal from the wounds you experience?


2 responses to “For All the Wounded Mamas

  1. allkidtopics says:

    What a beautiful post πŸ™‚ I’m so glad I found your blog!

Leave a comment